Budget Session 2017 (Part I) – An Analysis

March 3, 2017 admin@admin.com

The first Part of the Budget Session 2017 (11th Session of the 16thLok Sabha) commenced on 31st January 2017 with a Parliamentary address by the President of India.  After sitting for 8 days, the first part concluded on 9th February 2017.  For the first time in India, the Union Budget was presented on 1st February […]

Sansad Ratna Awards Committee for 16th Lok Sabha

August 22, 2015 admin@admin.com

Sansad Ratna Award Committee for 16th Lok Sabha Committee of Judges Shri Anandrao Adsul Hon’ble MP – Chairman Shri Hansraj G Ahir, Hon’ble MOS Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, Hon’ble MP Award Committee President K. Srinivasan, Chairman, Prime Point Foundation Editor in Chief, PreSense Convenor Bhawanesh Deora, Shreyan Foundation Members Academic Dr Mariazeena Jhonson, Mg. Director, […]

Coal Nayak and Sansad Ratna Awardee Hansraj Ahir turns 61 and takes over as a Minister in Modi Government

November 11, 2014 admin@admin.com

Shri Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, BJP MP from Chandrapur is popularly known as ‘Coal Nayak’ for his unearthing coal scam. He is also the recipient of ‘Sansad Ratna Award’ for the past five years continuously for his consistent outstanding performance in the 15th Lok Sabha.  During May 2014, he was elected as MP for fourth time from Chandrapur […]

Interaction session on ‘Role of Parliament in Indian democracy’ – 4th October 2014

September 23, 2014 admin@admin.com

L to R : Kumar Rajendran, Srinivasa Prabhu and Prithvi Sansad Ratna Awards Committee organised an interaction session with Shri B Srinivasa Prabhu, (Director of Lok Sabha Secretariat, Delhi) on Saturday the 4th October 2014 at Dr MGR Janaki Arts and Science College, Chennai.  G A Prithvi, coordinator of this event and a member of […]

Heroes of 15th Lok Sabha to be honoured at Chennai on 22nd February 2014 at Chennai Press Club

December 23, 2013 admin@admin.com

Sansad Ratna Team is pleased to announce the ‘Sansad Ratna 2014’ Awards for top performing Lok Sabha Members to be presented on Saturday the 22nd February 2014 at Chennai Press Club in the presence of media. (updated on 9th Feb 2014).  This year’s theme is “CELEBRATE DEMOCRACY” Shri N Gopalswami, Former Chief Election Commissioner of […]

Sansad Ratna Awards 2013 – Panel discussion on politics, democracy and governance

May 1, 2013 admin@admin.com

Panel discussion in Tamil on politics, democracy and governance In our earlier posting, we write briefly about the Sansad Ratna Awards 2013 function and the National Seminar on politics, democracy and governance held at IIT Madras on 20th April 2013. The Awards were instituted by Prime Point Foundation, Chennai for the top performing Lok Sabha […]

Sansad Ratna Awards 2013 – Overview of Indian Parliament – Presentation by Chakshu Rai

April 29, 2013 admin@admin.com

Chakshu Rai of PRS Legislative Research  A National Seminar on politics, democracy and governance was held by Prime Point Foundation on 20th April 2013 jointly with IIT Madras in their Auditorium.  The National Seminar was inaugurated by Dr K Rosaiah, Governor of Tamil Nadu.  Top performing Lok Sabha MPs were presented with Sansad Ratna 2013 […]

Sansad Ratna Awards 2013 – Electoral Reforms + Disruption of Parliament

April 28, 2013 admin@admin.com

T S Krishna Murthy (Former Chief Election Commissioner of India)  and Dr K Rosaiah, Governor of Tamil Nadu In our earlier posting, we had published a brief report about the presentation of Sansad Ratna Awards and launching of ezine PreSense to mark the inauguration of National Seminar on politics, democracy and governance.Mr T S Krishna Murthy, […]

Four MPs to be honoured with ‘Sansad Ratna’ Award

April 10, 2012 admin@admin.com

Prime Point Foundation at the close of first part of the Budget Session every year honours the Members of Lok Sabha for their outstanding performance.  Mainly, the Members are assessed based on their (a) asking questions, (b) participation in debates, including raising important  issues under Rule 377. 193, Zero hour discussions, etc., (c ) introduction […]

How to track performance of MPs and MLAs?

April 1, 2012 admin@admin.com

L to R: Bharathi Thamizhan, Tonusree, K Srinivasanand Era. Sezhiyan Indian Election Commission conducts elections every five years to elect MPs and MLAs for the Parliament and various State Assemblies.  The media hype dies down, after the elections are completed.  Unless there are some big issues or chaos in the Houses, neither the media nor […]

Saluting the top performers of 14th Lok Sabha

March 22, 2012 admin@admin.com

During March 2009, India was preparing for the General Elections to elect the 15th Lok Sabha. During that time, Prime Point Foundation started analysing the performance of the Members of 14th Lok Sabha.  The data relating to raising questions, raising issues under 377, participation in debates, introduction of private bills and the attendance of the […]

Parliament – An overview

March 22, 2012 admin@admin.com

P Parliament is the supreme legislative body of a country. Indian  Parliament comprises of the President and the two Houses-Lok Sabha (House of the People) and Rajya Sabha (Council of States).  The President has the power to summon and prorogue either House of Parliament or to dissolve Lok Sabha. The Constitution of India came into […]