Who We Are

We are an apolitical non-governmental organisation within Prime Point Foundation that comprises civil society leaders who administer annual Sansad Ratna Awards.

Prime Point Foundation, a Non-Profit Trust and NGO was founded in December 1999 by Shri K Srinivasan (popularly known as Prime PointSrinivasan), a former Senior Banker and a Digital Journalist and Communication Professional, to promote leadership and communicationskills among the youth. Very eminent persons are associated with the Foundation. In the past 22 years, the Foundation has organised several seminars,workshops, training and interactive sessions, both offline and online, on various subjects of national interest. The Foundation manages variousonline discussion groups and podcasts on communication, and digital journalism. The Foundation has formed 5 initiatives to create awareness in variousdomains.

All these initiatives are managed independently by passionate experts. These initiatives are non-commercial, and focussed on youth.

About the Sansad Ratna Awards

These are the only awards presented by citizens and the Indian civil society to honour the top performing Parliamentarians in the government of India.

Many eminent citizens, including retired bureaucrats, professionals, social workers and academicians of Chennai are associated with the Awards Committee. T S Krishnamurthy, Former Chief Election Commissioner of India is the ‘Patron’ of the Awards Committee. The Sansad Ratna Awards are conferred on those who receive the awards in person at the award ceremony.

Total Parliamentarian Awardees
Number of Women Awardees
Number of Nominees

History of Sansad Ratna

The Sansad Ratna Awards Committee was instituted in 2009 to promote the late Dr. Abdul J. Kalam’s vision and hope to celebrate success for outstanding Parliamentarian. On the suggestion of former President of India (late) Prime Point Foundation decided to highlight the positive aspect of Indian democracy by recognising its top performing parliamentarians, who quietly discharged their constitutional duties with exemplary commitment and performance. Prime Point Foundation instituted the Sansad Ratna Awards to recognise and honour these Parliamentarians.

Awards are based on parameters that include raising questions, participation in debates, and introduction of private members bills, attendance and MPLAD funds, etc. These awards are given every year with the support of IIT Madras, for the past twelve years.

Meet Our Team

Meet the team behind the Sansad Ratna Awards. All members are volunteers.